We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

We All Belong To Something Else

by jphono1

Honey World 03:54
Swim Lesson 03:53


"Switchblade Comb" Video

We All Belong to Somebody Else first got its legs while Harrison strolled and strummed about at home with an acoustic in his hands during the fall of 2022, and without warning, out came the track, “Let the Form.” The song was composed fully—and completely—on the spot. This opened the floodgates for Harrison, as his creativity flowed like a great tidal wave, resulting in an entire record’s worth of new tunes within just a few weeks.

The songs began in a stripped down, minimalist format, but once Harrison looped in his longtime friend, the producer Alan Weatherhead (Sparklehorse, Magnolia Electric Company), the two worked out a dynamic direction for the LP to take.

“Through our conversations and his mixing wizardry there was a path forward. I wanted the album to retain the mostly acoustic aesthetic, and also have collaborations with others along the way,” Harrison said of the record’s development.

The album’s sound was formed and molded through the synergy that grew between Harrison and his collaborators, which included Weatherhead on everything from keys to pedal steel guitar, Rachel Kiel on flute and Nathan Bowles on banjo, among others. The resulting
combination of talents produced a vast array of different styles, moods and atmospheres.

Tracks like “Swim Lesson” and “Honey World,” are sunny folk rock gems with addictive hooks, sweet harmonies and a laid-back, early 70’s Beach Boys vibe. Meanwhile, Harrison leans deeper into psychedelic folk territory on songs like “Give Me The Sun,” which coasts with breezy flute trills and spacy keyboards that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Pre-Dark Side Pink Floyd album. Elsewhere on the record, you’re treated to acid-tinged jams, spiritually-inspired acoustic
odes and prog-Americana ballads.


released January 12, 2024

Recorded at Bugalow Studio
Mixed and produced by Alan Weatherhead
Mastered at Mystery Room Mastering by Justin Perkins
All songs/words by Jphono1 at Rocktropolis Music BMI
Copyright 2024

Album friends, collaborators and guests

All Of Me & All Of You
Alex Livingstone bass & vocals
John Crouch drums

Honey World
Steph Stewart vocals
Mario Arnez vocals

Ancient Confuse
Alex Livingstone bass & vocals
John Crouch drums

Let Them Form
Anne-Claire Cleaver vocals
Nathan Bowles banjo
Alex Livingstone bass

Give Me The Sun
Rachel Kiel flute & vocals

Swim Lesson
Matt Southern vocals & mandolin
Casey Toll upright bass
John Crouch drums

Switchblade Comb
Nathan Golub pedal steel
Alex Livingstone bass
John Crouch drums

We All Belong To Something Else
Reid Johnson vocals
Maria Albani vocals

All other sounds by Jphono1 and Alan Weatherhead

Cover design by Regina McCoy


all rights reserved



jphono1 Carrboro, North Carolina

Jphono1 and friends explore new elements in sounds and arrangements with his fuzz-frayed folk-pop. Fragments of electronics, acoustic guitars, and keys join what at first resemble straight-forward compositions, only to break apart into unassuming lo-fi with casual psychedelia, finding a comfortable station at the intersection of Meat Puppets whimsy and Steve Gunn introspection. ... more

contact / help

Contact jphono1

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like jphono1, you may also like: